About me

Welcome to my website and thank you for visiting. I hope you enjoy viewing my images.
Based in the UK, I have developed a passion for nature and macro photography. In my Galleries you will find some of my favourite images. My main passion is photographing birds. and my macro photography includes many flowers and insects. You will also find a selection of other nature shots including fish, reptiles and a selection of animals. I have had the opportunity to travel, so you may also like to take a look at my landscapes, seascapes and sunset images, not just from the UK, but places like Mexico and Aruba.

I returned to photography about eighteen years ago after a break of 15 or so years. I had purchased my first Nikon camera (a N65 film camera) and I found the Nikonians community a great help in developing my skills. I am completely self taught, and I have had my photographs published in books, and magazines, not just in the UK, but in the USA, Holland, Germany, Denmark, and in places as far away as Belize and Brazil.

I started my digital life several years ago with the very capable, Nikon D70 and I am currently mostly using a Nikon D500 and D7100. In 2007 I joined the Flickr community, and met some excellent photographers, found inspiration in their images, and my photography improved as a result. The popularity of my Flickr site encouraged me to set up my own web presence.

Please don't hesitate to contact me if you have any questions regarding my work. If you are interested in purchasing my images, please contact me for more information. Please note, not all the photographs here are suitable for large prints, and some are only suitable for internet use. I have a selection of photographs available through Getty

Please return often, as this site is constantly updated.

All photography on this site is copyright.
© 2000-2019 Paul Wheeler.
All Rights Reserved Worldwide.
None of these photographs may be reproduced and/or disclosed publicly in any way, shape or form without the written permission of Paul Wheeler.